by Anju Ito & Olivia Krueger, Staff Writers

As a senior athlete of Fountain Valley High School (FVHS), Cody Newsome has played on the boys varsity basketball team for two years as a shooting guard.

Newsome didn’t always start out with basketball. He had played baseball, but when his friends asked him to play basketball with them one day, it opened up a whole basketball career ahead of him.

“I tried basketball and I liked how I could use my full athletic ability in the sport rather than baseball, where I would be standing or sitting for half the game,” said Newsome.

Newsome’s most memorable game was their first home game of the season against Marina. It was an unforgeable victory where he lead the team in scoring 21 points.

This season, Newsome hopes to make it back into the playoffs to conclude his final high school season.

With games and practices going on almost every single day, basketball has been a huge part of Newsome’s high school life. Even though he does not plan to pursue basketball after high school, Newsome will always continue it as a hobby.

“I will miss all the great friends I have made and balling with them everyday, and also hearing the crowd when I drain shots at home games,” said Newsome.

 

Published on the February newspaper.

